- Special Sections
- Public Notices
Tennessee Development of Forestry would like to remind everyone that burn permits are required October 15th – May 15th.
From October 15th thru May 15th, all persons doing outdoor burning in Tennessee are required to obtain a FREE of cost burn permit from the Tennessee Dept of Agriculture, Forestry Division. Burning without a permit this time period is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a $50 fine, as well as suppression costs. To obtain a permit, call your local forestry office Monday thru Friday, between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Remember that YOU are responsible for your fire and any damages incurred should it escape, as well as liable for suppression costs from the state Forestry AND any fire departments that have to put out the escaped fire. If you have questions about burning conditions or how to maintain a safe fire, or if you have information about arson fires, contact your county Forestry office. If you have questions/concerns about air quality/pollution regulations, contact the state Dept of Environment & Conservation at 1-888-891-TDEC, or www.tdec.net/apc.
Numbers to call for a burn permit in Morgan County is 423-346-6655.