Down to the wire

-A A +A

Voters to decide Circuit Court Clerk, County Executive, Sheriff on Thursday

By Goose Lindsay

Months of campaigning will come to an end on Thursday for local candidates as voters in Morgan County head to the polls to cast their ballots.

There are seven officials in county government on this year’s ballot, but only three are contested.

Perhaps the biggest race in the county has the biggest field as Joe Duncan, Mark Keck, Brian Langley and Ricky Matheson are all trying to unseat Don Edwards as Morgan County Executive.

The race for Sheriff and Circuit Court Clerk are also contested, but there are only two candidates running in each contest. Wayne Potter is challenging incumbent Glen Freytag in the race for Sheriff, while Marla Hines is challenging incumbent Pam Keck in the Circuit Court Clerk’s race.

Four other races are unopposed as Trustee Cindi Jones, County Clerk Cheryl Collins, Register of Deeds Sandy Leach-Dalton and Road Superintendent Joe Henry Miller are the only names on the ballot.

Eighteen seats on Morgan County Commission are also up for grabs, but only one district is being contested as Robert Byrd, Susie Kries, Marden Leonard and Mike Raiford are battling it out for three spots in the fourth district.

Three spots on Morgan County School Board are up for grabs, but like County Commission, only one is being contested as Paul Hudson and Benjamin Jackson are seeking to represent the first district.

State and federal primary elections are also on Thursday’s ballot with the race for Governor being the biggest race on the state level. A state representative seat is also being contested while seats in both the Senate and House of Representative are up for grabs on the federal level. Winners of the Republican and Democrat primaries will square off again in November.

Early voting at Morgan County Courthouse ended on Saturday and as of that time 2,575 votes had been cast at the courthouse. Those numbers could increase if more ballots are received in the mail.

A total of 2,732 votes were cast through the same time period during early voting in 2014.

There are a total of 9,806 registered voters in Morgan County with more than 600 listed as inactive.

Polls in Morgan County’s 12 precincts will open at 9 a.m. Thursday and will close at 8 p.m. Anyone in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

Results will be available at www.morgancountynews.net when they become available on Thursday.